Stream


I never saw a store-bought playground.
I never owned new toys either.
The stream was my playground,
and the landfill my toy store.
I washed my clothes in the stream
and played and bathed in it
while they dried on stone fences or shrubs.
I watched shiny water beetles
making whirlpools in the stream.
You could say they were my pets,
as were hummingbirds, doves,
and the amazing mockingbird.
I raised and cared for each
of these birds except the hummer.
I loved sliding down the steam bank.
I used stepping stones to get to school
and picked colorful flowers before class.
The stream was like my second home.

Picture credit: J. Crisanto Gallegos de Robles

Copyright@2016 Martina R. Gallegos

Leave a Reply

