Shirt Off my Back

Shirt Off my Back


“I don’t like surprises,” I’d tell him,
but he wanted to show he was in control
so he’d come home with clothes
I never wore but could reject.
One day he came home with a gift;
there was no reason for it;
it was a just-because-gift.
He felt proud and smiled widely.
I didn’t say anything when I saw
what was in the nice gift bag,
but I hated it immediately;
it wasn’t something I’d wear.
He wondered why I was so quiet;
I knew I had to tell him before
he went berserk.
I told him it wasn’t my kind of thing
and didn’t fit me either.
The shirt was too small and the texture
was too rough; I couldn’t stand it.
I knew what was coming next;
The guy lost it immediately and started yelling at me.
He’d gone out of his way to do “something special for me.”
He thought he’d spent a million bucks, too.
I just let the bag drop on the ground and left.
He immediately picked it up
and tossed it all the way to the roof
of a two-story building.
When I say I don’t like surprises, I darn mean it!

First posted to Poetry SuperHighway, PSH, April 18th, 2016.

Copyright@2016 Martina R. Gallegos

Leave a Reply

