Where Home Is Not


As I look at my home planet,
my heart breaks into pieces.
It’s literally falling apart.
What has mankind done to it?
The Animal Kingdom is disappearing
thanks to the greed of man,
so is plant life.
Oceans are littered with debris
and life in it is no life at all;
creatures are committing suicide
to prevent further abuse and suffering.
As I look at my home planet,
my heart breaks into pieces.
Children don’t smile anymore,
and the elderly are abandoned.
Wealthy fools buy and destroy national landmarks,
and people are begging on the streets.
As I look at my home planet,
my heart breaks into pieces.
Children don’t read books anymore;
technology has taken their minds hostage;
parents have forgotten how to be parents;
Internet and social media have taken their place.
I’m looking for a new home in outer space!

First posted to Facebook, April 24, 2016, PSH.

Picture credits: J. Crisanto Gallegos de Robles, Martina Gallegos

Copyright@2016 Martina R. Gallegos

Leave a Reply

